Homemade Moisturizing Hair Spritz

Hi there folks!

As many of you know (or will learn), I’m an original products queen. I stay on a constant mission to find the most effective goodies, methods and tricks that offer me consistent results, the look that I want and as close to a minimalist regimen as possible. If I don’t like it, I’m not using it. If I love it, I’m telling the whole world about. No hoarding of information here!  I’m usually open to trying anything once–within reason! :) Sorry, but I’m not using urine to clear up acne. Yes, “urea” can be found in some beauty products. But on God’s green earth, there has to be some remedy other than collecting one’s morning pee to have clear skin! (Tea tree oil would be one of them.)

With all this in mind, here is my latest craze:

Homemade Moisturizing Hair Spritz

Now before I begin to explain the goodness that is this concoction, let me just say upfront that I am not a licensed stylist, chemist, allergist, doctor or anything remotely related to anyone who knows anything about mixing stuff up and their subsequent effects. This is just a homemade spritz that I personally use. The base of the spritz comes from a formula concocted by Youtube videographer KinkyTresses (I like her minimalist concoctions!)
My formula includes the following:

1 part water (I used ½ cup)
1 part whole leaf aloe vera juice (I used ½ cup)
1 teaspoon vegetable glycerin (in warmer months I might increase the amount… work in progress)
2 teaspoons of your oil of choice (I used a mix of 1tsp almond oil (lots of shine!) and 1tsp jojoba oil (overall very good for your hair and very light/absorbent)
5 drops of rosemary essential oil (natural preservative)

You can find all the ingredients at any whole foods market in the beauty section. Pour all the ingredients in a water bottle, shake it up and voila! – you have your spritz! (A pic of mine is above.)  Some keep their spritz in the refrigerator, if they aren’t going to use it often.  These are natural ingredients, so it may have the ability to “turn.” (I haven’t had that issue, but just putting that out there.)

It’s very moisturizing.  A little goes a LONG way; so, I would start with a light mist and determine how much you need, as your hair feels.  I absolutely LOVE this spritz. It’s MOISTURE in the truest sense of the term and not just oil lining your hair strands–which is just sealing your strands, but not really moisturizing them. I use it to moisturize and refresh my curls once a day (or every other day, depending on how my hair feels).  I will also add a little jojoba or coconut oil to my ends every other night, as well.  All in all, the spritz keeps my hair soft to the touch, shiny and my strands tend to de-frizz and really “pop,” when I use it as a refresher.

For ladies with relaxed hair: Why didn’t I know about this years ago?! I would definitely use this at night as a very light mist to moisturize–especially new growth! If you are concerned about dousing your hair with water, consider using a smaller bottle with a press down nozzle, instead of the trigger nozzle (like the bottle shown), to assure that it comes out as a mist and not a spray.  Add a tiny extra trickle of jojoba oil to your ends to seal it in, wrap it up… Thank me later! :)

If you choose to use it, please comment and let me know what you think! :)

About Skye

Ever-evolving mid-30s woman; laughter and adventure seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

